How long does spousal support last?

On Behalf of | Jul 20, 2019 | Uncategorized

During your Massachusetts divorce, the subject of alimony may turn up. Even following divorce proceedings, one spouse may file a complaint regarding alimony at any time after the divorce. In addition, the courts can adjust or modify alimony at any time. According to the Massachusetts government, in terms of alimony, there are four different types. Those types include:

  • Transitional
  • Reimbursement
  • General term
  • Rehabilitative

Transitional pays for no more than five years after a marriage and former spouses use it to settle into a new lifestyle. Reimbursement alimony, on the other hand, helps enable the former spouse to complete job training but does not last more than five years. General alimony pays regularly on ex-spouses who were dependent on their former spouses. This length of time you have to follow general alimony varies based on marriage length. Rehabilitative alimony provides support until the ex-spouse can support him or herself.

In general alimony, if you were married for less than five years, one spouse may not collect alimony for more than 50% of the months married. After 10 years, a former spouse cannot collect more than 60% of the number of months married. Then, after 15 years, the percentage of months changes to 70%. For those marriages that are 20 years or less, you cannot collect for more than 80% of those months. It changes with marriages that last beyond 20 years, however. After 20 years, the judge determines the fair timeline.

Now, alimony may also end if a spouse dies, if the receiving spouse receives alimony or if a judge orders the end.

None of this is legal advice but instead educational information.